Snapshot of our week – Week 8

~ March 23-29th ~

Something very important and exciting happened this week…. Little Miss Arlia turned 3! How on Earth she is already 3 is a mystery to me, but she’s certainly found the three-year-old-attitude and she not afraid to use it, lol. She really truly is such a blessing though, and such an amazing little person. I can’t imagine life without her sweet little kisses, her hilarious antics, and the joy that she brings into our lives.

birthday1Based on her facial expression, the squeal she let out, and the way she repeated “I got a bike, I got a bike, I got a bike”, I think it’s safe to say she was pretty happy she got a bike for her birthday.

birthday2The girls are both loving My Little Pony things at the moment, so these little soft ponies were very well received. The girls are sharing them together and sleep with them every night.

first bike rideArlia’s first ride on her bike! She did so well and was really proud of herself. She’s still finding it difficult to maintain the rotation of the pedals from time to time though. I wish it were a little warmer so she could take her shoes off to better feel the pedals. Hmmm, next time I might just put some old socks on her and see how she goes.

safari1One of the shopping centres close to us currently has a Safari Experience. Throughout the centre there are these large displays with animatronic animals that you can get up close to. Arlia had to give all the animals a wave, and was a little disappointed she couldn’t give them a kiss.

safariWe went to see them in the week before the school holidays started so that it would be a bit quieter. Turns out it was a great time to go, because the first 500 kids to find all the animals got a free book! And it’s quite a nice educational book too.

3dmatchingThese wooden 3D matching tiles are often brought out from the kid’s office, especially by Arlia. At the moment she likes to just match them like this, but soon I want to start putting some of the silhouettes in the bag, asking her to choose a tile, and then seeing if she can feel inside the bag for the correct silhouette without looking.

mathsgameA little bit of fun with a maths game. I made the game a bit easier for the girls by not requiring them to do addition or subtraction, but Kyson and I had to roll two numbers and add them or subtract them before finding the correct card.

painting1As usual, there is always quite a bit of painting during the week. This time I made up some watery paints with tempura powder for something a little different. The kids now have an art shelf (which can be seen in the left of the photo) in our dining area so that they can access art and craft at any time. There’s not a huge amount on it yet as I want to introduce things slowly to avoid overloading the kids.

moongazing2To finish up the week we did some moon and star gazing through the telescope. I wish we had a better telescope, but we at least managed to get a good look at the moon. Honestly, I prefer to just gaze at the moon and stars with the naked eye, and I think the kids do too.

moongazing1The moon and us thank you for stopping by 😉

Leave a comment